iPad Apps in the Classroom

I am very weary of using iPads in my classroom.  Not because I don’t think they are worth it, but because I don’t know of a way to use them as a classroom tool instead of a tool for one individual.  With that said, I am certainly not saying that you can’t use them as a classroom tool, I simply don’t know how.  I do not have a classroom set nor do I believe that I will get one in the near future; however, some students come to my class each day as I do, with their iPad.  As I mentioned before, many of my high school students are lacking in the arithmetic department.  Since some students already have their iPad, I can ask them to download some free apps to help them with these skills.  One of the apps that I found to be fun (even for me) and educational is “King of Math”.  It is an app that takes you through different skills.  The first skill you go through is Addition.  You have to go through 10 levels of arithmetic, each with 10 questions.  The levels are very different from each other and one even incorporates a little Algebra.  I think this would be a fun activity for a student who has finished a little early and needs some extra practice.  I strongly advise that you try it yourself!  You can download part of the app for free and the full version is $.99.  You can listen to a short review of the app below.

This review is by Nigel Lane.  Lane is a teacher in Ireland.  This audio was taken from audioboo.fm.

10 thoughts on “iPad Apps in the Classroom

  1. I am in the same boat about being weary about iPads for the classroom. But my concern is about management and cost as opposed to usage. I love my iPad, but for the classroom, I think I’ll stick with my set of laptops (at least for now).

  2. You make an interesting point about the way apps are designed more for individual use than group use. I am rather new in the app world so learning about what is offered. I like the idea of mobile education though, and can see where certain apps could be great on the go with students working together with one device.

  3. My reply isn’t about the iPad or the app, but a thank you for posting your struggles with embedding the audio. I was away from a computer for the first half of this week, but I could see your posts with 3G on my phone. Now that I’m back home by a computer and able to embed my own audio, you’re Audioboo discovery has saved me a lot of time and headaches. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

